Richmond Home

A&S NEXT Committee

A&S NEXT is a collaboration between the School of Arts & Sciences and Career Services. The two-day program provides a unique opportunity for students across majors and class years to learn about the many ways they can apply the strengths, skills, and knowledge developed through an Arts & Sciences major to making a difference in the world.  

Throughout the weekend, students gain hands-on experience exploring and solving real-world problems (case studies) alongside alumni and faculty who work to solve these problems in their own careers. In addition to applying and honing skills critical for success during their UR experience and beyond, students have the chance to talk with faculty and alumni from across disciplines to hear about their career paths, ask questions, and form relationships as part of the UR Arts & Sciences community. 

This video from A&S NEXT 2020 highlights more details about the program and offers insight from faculty, staff, and students about the experience. 


To support the development, success, and potential expansion A&S NEXT. The committee collaborates with the Associate Director of Professional Development for Arts & Sciences, the Dean or ex officio Dean’s appointee to this initiative, and the Career Service’s A&S NEXT Planning Committee on the following tasks:

  • Identifying and developing topical case studies;
  • Informing and cultivating Arts & Sciences faculty facilitators from various disciplines to facilitate case discussions on the day of the event;
  • Providing these additional faculty facilitators guidance about their role at the event, based on the committee member’s previous experience;
  • Participating in the ongoing assessment of program outcomes. 

Committee Members 

The committee shall consist of between 3 and 9 faculty, with at least one representative from each of the three divisions of Arts and Sciences.

Current Members:

  • Laura Browder, Div. I   
  • Jonathan Dattelbaum, Div. III 
  • Todd Lookingbill, Div. II
  • Joanna Wares, Div. III
  • Jennifer Cavenaugh, ex officio
  • Manuella Meyer, ex officio